A couple of hours ago I came off the phone to a friend I’d not seen in too long. He told me that someone we’d gone to school with died a couple of weeks ago. A heart attack. I don’t know anything else of the circumstances and probably shouldn’t as it’s none of my business.

And I’ll not pretend that we were particularly close. We weren’t. We were friends when I was, oh, I don’t know, fifteen. We shared similar interests (girls, Star Wars, music, smoking cigarettes) and we got along ok, despite actually fighting once (I was never a fighter, it didn’t last long). For a while we were friends.

I don’t think I’ve spoken to him or heard what he’s been up to since I left school way back in 1997, but I’ll always remember him as a good lad. And hearing of his passing – and at such a stupidly young age – makes me really, really sad.

And I think that’s it. I’m not sure that there’s anything else I can say. But I’m glad I said something.

[Added – I remember he really liked this. So here it is.]

