Well, not strictly. I am feeling better for having some time off.

Happy new year, one and all. I hope your holidays were splendid.

I am back at work. Properly.

Yesterday, as well as watching some great stuff on iPlayer and 4 OD (Charlie Brooker, and Charlie Brooker), I wrote the first draft of an essay on short fiction. More on that soon.

And today’s been spent going through the proofs for Freaks!. And I have to tell you, I couldn’t be happier with it. I am excited. I got that tingly this is good feeling, and that is most definitely good. Oh yes. Even if I do say so myself. And even if the good bits turn out to be all of Caroline’s.

I also sent out the first part of my new short fiction course earlier. Incidentally (important announcement alert) a couple of people have been grumbling that I didn’t get back to them when they emailed to say they were interested. This is because something had cocked up with the form on the page and I never actually saw the emails. So, as I’m a nice chap, I’ll extend the £89 special offer until next week, for ANYONE who’d like to do it. Details here, or email me at mail AT nperring DOT com. And huge apologies to anyone who thought I was ignoring them. I wasn’t. Promise!

I think that’s about it, for now. Hope 2012 is treating you all well. And if it isn’t, give it time, eh?

