I’m delighted to welcome Talli Roland back to the blog today. Talli was here a little while ago, defending Chick Lit – you can read the post here.

 

And as Talli’s such a top lady and author, and because her latest book has just been released on the Kindle, I thought it was about time to ask her back. So here she is, talking about those niggly What-if questions us authors have. Enjoy!

 

 

Answering the ‘What Ifs’

While generally, being a writer is fantastic (coffee, wine, coffee, wine), one of the negatives is a little thing called doubt. Unlike traditional jobs, you don’t have people around to pat you on the back or provide solutions while you pound out the words. There’s just you, your brain, and your laptop. Inevitably, an army of swarming questions launches an attack.

A small selection of things rattling around my brain last night:

  •                   What if I can’t get my novel exactly where I want it to be?
  •                  What if people hate my new novel?
  •                  What if I have to go back to a full-time job — how will I explain a three-year absence?
  •                   How will I ever retire on a non-existent pension?

I think I’ll stop there; I don’t want to bring you all down! When I get in such a state (which I have to admit, is quite often), I try to turn around the questions into positives. Imagine this:                     What if I become a best-selling author with multiple novels?

  •                     What if I make enough money to have financial security?
  •                     What if my husband and family are just so proud they can’t stop telling me?
  •                     What if I believe in myself and have the confidence and focus I need?

You know, strangely, I usually feel a whole lot better! It’s not rocket science to say ‘focus on the positives’, I know, but sometimes when it comes to the ups and down of the writing life, it really does make a difference. At least, until the next bout of insomnia!

What are your what-ifs, positive or negative?

 

Talli Roland has three loves in her life: chick lit, coffee and wine. Born and raised in Canada, Talli now lives in London, where she savours the great cultural life (coffee and wine). Despite training as a journalist, Talli soon found she preferred making up her own stories – complete with happy endings. Her first novel, The Hating Game, was an Amazon UK best-seller, remaining in the top 100 for almost three months, and she’s just released her second, Watching Willow Watts. Talli blogs here and can be found on Twitter here.

 

