Tags

, ,

Today sees the launch of Talli Roland‘s eBook version of ‘Watching Willow Watts’ and to celebrate she’s having one of those blog splash thingies. And the subject is Who Would You Be If You Could Be Anyone?
Because Talli’s a top type of person, and because I’d like to draw your attention to her new book, I thought I’d give it a go.

 

So who would I be, if I could be anyone? Well, when I was younger I’d have loved to be Luke Skywalker (lightsaber, the force, cool modes of transport, etc etc). And a little later I think I’d have loved to have been Joe Strummer. Wonderful music, looked cool as you like, politically aware – someone famous and successful who was both honest who had a conscience. I learned a lot from him and the music of The Clash and was, a few years ago, lucky enough to shake the great man’s hand.

But really, when it comes down to it, I don’t think I’d want to be anyone else. They simply do it better. What I think I’d like to be is a slightly better version of me. And I think I’m lucky, because that’s a lot more attainable. And there’s less of a queue for it.

So, who would you be?

*

And here they are, in their prime, looking rather cool, covering Sonny Curtis’ ‘I Fought The Law’.

And, a little later, with his own band.

Oh for a quiff!

