It seems like an awfully long time since I posted anything kind of personal on here, and for that I apologise; it’s mainly been I’m reading here, or I’m interviewed there, and whatnot, and while that has a chance of being interesting (I certainly hope it does), it can get a bit samey. It’s certainly felt like it has. So, sorry.

But there has been a reason for it. Oh yes. And mostly that reason’s been: BECAUSE I’VE BEEN EXCEPTIONALLY BLOODY BUSY. And that’s no bad thing – I’ve been busy with good stuff, so I’m not complaining. But it has got me thinking. You know, for the past three years (it may be longer) I haven’t stopped. I’ve written Not So Perfect, I’ve signed a contract for it, done the edits, then launched it, then promoted it – while setting up a short story specific editing company. And I’ve, along with Caroline Smailes, written Freaks!, signed a contract, etc etc, blah, blah, blah. On Friday, I finished the final tweak to the final story. The book is done (for now) and can go to the publishers. (Hooray!)

And that means that I can have a break.

Writing a book is hard, hard work. Deeply rewarding and a huge amount of fun (especially if you’re lucky enough to have people like it), but hard, hard work. Promoting the book’s the same, especially if, like me, you’re a bit shy and not too fond of being the person everyone’s watching. And I’ll not lie: it’s been made more difficult by other people, people who might not want me to have a book out there, who might not want me to be on the ‘scene’ (I’ve discovered, over the few years I’ve been writing professionally (my first book was published in 2006, when I was a naive 26 year old) that there are two sorts of authors: ones who like, support and promote good literature and who support the industry (without it, there wouldn’t be ANY authors), and those who like, support, and promote their own work, and feel they can dictate what the industry should be; I hope I fall into the former category!).

So, it’s been a lot to deal with. It’s been a lot of hard work and not, as that naive 26 year would have had you believe, all fun and roses. And I should say, I’m not complaining. I’m simply, err, babbling. I love my job and wouldn’t change it for the world. It’s just, well, not so perfect (would I want it any other way?)!

So, for now, I’ve got almost nothing to do. I need to catch up with emails (which I WILL do) and there are a few people I’d like to interview but, those aside, for the first time in years, I’m going to take a short break. I might go for a walk, or go shopping. I might go to a city and wander. I might go to a cafe or doze or read. Hell, I might even go on holiday. We’ll see.

But yes, even if it’s only for a few days, a break sounds really bloody good.

