Michael Kimball’s ‘Us’ has just been published in the US. I read it (under its UK banner) last year and utterly loved it.
Here’s what I said about it at the time:
***
How Much of Us There Was by Michael Kimball, broke my heart. There’s not much else to say about it. It is, as I expected, utterly brilliant and incredibly affecting.
An elderly man wakes up one morning to find his wife having a seizure and then slipping into a coma. What follows is the story of the man’s wife’s death. It’s honest and moving and real and it’s written in such a sensitive and tender way that it’s almost impossible not to have your heart broken by it.
I wanted to describe How Much Of Us There Was as someone coming to terms with losing their partner, but that, I think would be wrong, because, like the man in the book, I don’t think many people are able to come to terms with such a tragic event.
An incredible book and one which I was delighted to discover was just as good as Dear Everybody.
It also made me think of my late grandparents, and made me happy that I’ve dedicated my book to them.
Read it. You will thank me for it.
