Right, something a little different today. Today you get a glimpse into the nonsensical mind of yours truly. I apologise in advance.

So, last night I was lying in my bed, as I’m wont to do. And, as I wasn’t asleep, I whacked the iPod on shuffle and just listened. And as the songs came on I started getting very specific memories of times when I’d listened to them. It was strange. Now, I am a bugger for (over) associating things with other things (you may remember me being particularly unfair to Terry Pratchett, for instance) and I know I associate certain songs or pieces of music with certain times in my life, or people or places (I’m sure most people do)- I just had no idea there would be that many. And it was fun. And interesting. And surprising. I wish I’d have written them down to be honest. 
I had no idea that Therapy?’s ‘Die Laughing’ was something I’d associate with me getting my hair cut, age 13, or so. Or that ‘The Broad Majestic Shannon’ reminded me of a specific stretch of road I’d driven along one winter evening about eleven years ago, while wearing a specific jumper (which,as a point of possible interest, I still have and wore only the other day). There’s a Bee Gees song that will always remind me of being driven home from my Nan’s house, holding a pack of Aeros to share with my brother and sister and I’ll always associate Suede’s ‘So Young’ with the school bus and an Aiwa personal cassette player. I think I was (and still am) a little surprised at how many memories there were and how strong and vivid they are – AND that most weren’t associated with any dramatic event (I suppose I know about them already).
Anyone else like me? Or am I just weird?
Anyway, here are a few that stood out. Cos I’m nice/boring I thought I’d share them…

(And, right now, I’m listening to Mazzy Star’s ‘Fade Into You’ – I wonder if this will become a song associated memory. Who knows…)

.

