Well, it was inevitable, wasn’t it? I simply had to recommend an Aimee Bender story, mostly, because she’s my favourite short story writer. Ever. (You can read me interviewing her here.)

I think it’s safe to say I could recommend any of her stories; they’re all wonderful.

Today I’m sticking with an old and firm favourite. The Rememberer.

It begins…

My lover is experiencing reverse evolution. I tell no one. I don’t know how it happened, only that one day he was my lover and the next he was some kind of ape. It’s been a month and now he’s a sea turtle.

I keep him on the counter, in a glass baking pan filled with salt water.

“Ben,” I say to his small protruding head, “can you understand me?” and he stares with eyes like little droplets of tar and I drip tears into the pan, a sea of me.

He is shedding a million years a day. I am no scientist, but this is roughly what I figured out. I went to the old biology teacher at the community college and asked him for an approximate time line of our evolution. 

Click hear to read it in full.

