So, yesterday, as I do every Tuesday evening, I took my writing group. And a cool thing happened. One of the girls I teach came in waving a book I’d recommended – the brilliant Heaven Can Wait by Cally Taylor (I mentioned it here and interviewed Cally here).

‘Thanks for recommending this,’ she said, all excited. ‘I LOVED it!’

And that’s why I recommended it. Because I loved it too. And, as a result, most of the other group members have said they’ll buy it or borrow it from the library – and that’s ignoring those who’ve already read it.

My point is that word of mouth works. That recommendations work.

So, friends, I set you a challenge/meme wossname (of sorts). A polite one, of course.

If you blog, recommend some books. Well known or hidden gems. It doesn’t matter. Spread the word of good writing.

Or go on Amazon and tell people why you liked it.

Do something. Because if people aren’t aware of something there’s not much chance that they’ll read it.

Here are mine:

Anything at all by Aimee Bender.
And Etgar Keret.
Elephants in Our Bedroom, by Michael Czyzniejewski.
Dear Everybody by Michael Kimball.
Like Bees to Honey by Caroline Smailes.
Something Beginning With, by Sarah Salway.
Love That Dog, by Sharon Creech.
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, F. Scott Fitzgerald.
Kafka in Bronteland, by Tamar Yellin.
The Graveyard Book, by Neil Gaiman.
Thirteen, by Sebastian Beaumont.
Olive Kitteridge, by Elizabeth Strout.

That’s enough for now, I think. I might post more later.

Come on, folks – let’s spread the word!

