I’m not one for re-reading books. As a rule I just don’t do it. And I’m not sure I should; there are loads and loads of books I’ve not read and want to, and so little time.

But recently, this past week, I’ve re-read a few. I don’t know why, it’s not been a conscious decision. Maybe it’s because I’ve been feeling out of sorts and a bit sorry for myself; maybe it’s because I’ve been busy with writing jobs that haven’t involved any actual writing; maybe it’s training for the writing I’m going to be doing; or maybe it’s serendipity. Don’t know. But the point is, I have. I re-read Kafka’s The Metamorphosis, and a load of Aimee Bender and Etgar Keret stories. And it’s been a wonderful and warming experience. And not just seeing things with fresh eyes, noticing things that’d slipped by me on first readings. More it’s reminded me WHY I loved them the first time round; why I love stories.
So, in the spirit of inclusion and sharing (and hoping for recommendations): what books would you re-read, and why?
