Well I could quite easily have slept all day today. I am shattered. And I know I’m shattered, aside from feeling it, because things that wouldn’t normally bother me have been doing and, my goodness, have I been cranky. Sure there are a number of things that have been getting on top of me lately (I think I reeled them all off last night to L – I don’t think she got two words in) but they’re all things I knew about already and really should know how to deal with; things like getting frustrated and being impatient for decisions on stories (I do appreciate guidelines say 3 months but I want to know NOW!), getting even more frustrated with not getting any decisions on stories at all. You know?

But as I was walking back from the post office earlier, I thought to myself: Nik, You chose to do this and you know what it’s about – you know what to expect – you know it’s hard. And I do – I’ve been doing it long enough. So it’s time to toughen up and to go with the flow a bit more, and to stop worrying about things that I can’t do anything about. And it’s time to stick to what I’m good at: writing stories and running workshops. And any help I get along the way will be a bonus.
And the thing is – I do have help. I have some wonderful friends, on and off-line whose support and loveliness is something rather special.
So from now on, this writer’s going to try to wear a smile. And think happier.
