An Essay, An Almost Meme and Me Babbling On

There’s an excellent essay here by Neil Gaiman on where he gets his ideas from. As well as being a terrific essay and well worth a read, it contains these words:

writers are asked where we get our ideas from. In the beginning, I used to tell people the not very funny answers, the flip ones: ‘From the Idea-of-the-Month Club,’ I’d say, or ‘From a little ideas shop in Bognor Regis,’ “.

Which is all well and good. But, while my beloved was in the East End of London yesterday (attending her sister’s graduation – go Sediment Girl, and congratulations!) she spotted, and diligently snapped, this. Maybe this fabled Idea Store is not, in fact, in Bognor Regis. Or maybe it’s moved.

***
And how chuffed have I been with responses to my Almost Meme? Rather chuffed I can tell you. What’s really cool, I think, is that everyone seems to be doing something slightly different with it.
So take a look. There’s Sarah Salway’s, Jenn Ashworth’s and Lane’s. And hopefully more to come. Come on folks, share your shelves!
***
And while I’m thinking about Jenn, I think what Jo Bell said about her was fab. I just wish I could have been there, and that my foot hadn’t had other ideas.
***
And it feels like I’m finally getting my head back into work mode. I managed a whole day of editing yesterday and even managed to get some submissions done. Here’s hoping something good comes of them.
***
And here’s wishing Tania a Very Happy Birthday.
