Make it Better

Well I’ve just finished the casual read-through/note making of the first draft of the novel I’ve been working on. And I’m quite happy with it. There’s a lot of work I’ll need to do before it’ll be ready to send out, but at least now I know where that work is required. I’m happiest that it makes sense. The plot, I think, works. The characterisation is good. There are even bits I laughed at (in a good way). And I was keen to read on. All good things. The best bit is there’s nothing huge that needs changing. A couple of scenes need reworking, a couple adding, but that’s what I’d expected.

So, for now at least, I’m contented. I know how I can make it better. Next step: make it better. That’s the hard part.

***

It occured to me, at some point this week, that I’ve been using the same red editing pen for just under a year. I don’t know why, but that makes me happy for some reason.

